top of page

International Diabetes Epidemiology Group

The International Diabetes Epidemiology Group (IDEG) was founded in 1979 in response to the recognition of the growing impact of the diabetes epidemic. The mission of IDEG is to forge collaboration and exchange ideas and data on the epidemiology of diabetes to better understand and explore its causes and consequences. To this end, the primary activity of the IDEG is a symposium held every two to three years as a satellite to the World Diabetes Congress (WDC) held by the International Diabetes Federation (IDF). This symposium serves as a platform to foster collaboration among researchers and practitioners in diabetes epidemiology worldwide.

In April 2025, IDEG will hold its 18th Symposium in Bangkok, Thailand.  A one-day epidemiology training course targeted at trainees and young researchers will also take place prior to the symposium. Details will be provided closer to the meeting date. The current president of the IDEG is Dr Lorraine Lipscombe.

About Us

How IDEG began..

Ideas of having a periodic international diabetes epidemiology meeting was first raised  by a group of diabetes researchers (including Drs Kelly West, Harry Keen, John Jarrett, Paul Zimmet, and Peter Bennett) at the IDF Congress in Dehli, (31st Oct-Nov 5th, 1976).


At a subsequent meeting in 1979 in the outskirts of Vienna, ahead of the main IDF Congress, IDEG was formed, with Dr Kelly West elected as the first chairperson, and Dr John Jarrett as the secretary.


Since then, IDEG has organized regular meetings on diabetes epidemiology every 2-3 years.


We welcome all!

Physicians, epidemiologists, students and researchers with interest in diabetes and diabetes epidemiology. Audience also includes other healthcare professionals/researchers and students in fields related to diabetes.

Our Mission




Lisbon, Portugal

Chair of the local organizing committee:

President: Ed Gregg, Ireland


Seoul, South Korea

Chair of the local organizing committee:

Dae Jung Kim and Hyeon Chang

President: Bruce Duncan, Brazil


Abu Dhabi, UAE

Chair of the local organizing committee: Jaakko Tuomilehto

President: Dianna Magliano, Australia



Vancouver, Canada

Chair of local organizing committee: Jeffrey Johnson

President: Ronald Ching Wa Ma, China



Melbourne, Australia

Chair of local organizing committee: Jonathan Shaw

President: Edward Boyko, USA



Sharjah, UAE

Chair of local organizing committee: Nabil Suliman

President: Jonathan Shaw, Australia



Quebec City, Canada 

Chair of local organizing committee: Jean-Pierre Depres

President: Nicholas Wareham, UK



Stellenbosch, South Africa 

Chair of local organizing committee: Naomi (Dinky) Levitt

President: Maria Inês Schmidt, Brazil


Tours, France 

President: Beverly Balkau, France


Acapulco, Mexico 

Chair of local organizing committee: Melchor Alpizar

President: Jaakko Tuomilehto, Finland



Savonlinna, Finland 

President: Jaakko Tuomilheto, Finland


Himeji, Japan 

President: Naoko Tajima, Japan



Williamsburg, Virginia 

President: Peter Bennett, USA



Hobart, Tasmania, Australia 

Chair of local organizing committee: Gordon Senator

President: Hilary King, USA



Madrid, Spain 

Harry Keen and John Jarrett, UK



Nairobi, Kenya 

Harry Keen and John Jarrett, UK


Vienna, Austria 

Formation of IDEG:

Kelly West, John Jarrett, Harry Keen, Maureen Harris, Paul Zimmet, Peter Bennett

Elected Kelly West as Chairman and John Jarrett as Secretary of IDEG

bottom of page